What set me free: a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc. ;
Pub. Date:
2019.
Edition:
First Atria paperback edition.
Language:
English
Description
Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story--that inspired the major motion picture Brian Banks --of a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL. At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal--and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded by darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, he made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to rebuild his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy , I Beat the Odds , and Infinite Hope , this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781982121310
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd05788a3-4bfc-6a6d-ac40-bdafe2395185
Grouping Titlewhat set me free a true story of wrongful conviction a dream deferred and a man redeemed
Grouping Authorbanks brian
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-03 22:34:39PM
Last Indexed2020-01-24 23:56:26PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Dagostino, Mark,
authorBanks, Brian, (football player)
author2-roleDagostino, Mark,author.
author_displayBanks, Brian
display_descriptionAt age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal—and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded in darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, Brian made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying and applying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to re-build his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy, I Beat the Odds, and Infinite Hope, this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
format_category_ehBooks
format_ehBook
idd05788a3-4bfc-6a6d-ac40-bdafe2395185
isbn9781982121310
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b26245279.i63309373East Lyme Public New Non FictionB BANKS, BRIAN (Banks) (What)1falsefalseOn Shelfelbn
itype_ehADULT PAPERBACK
last_indexed2020-01-25T06:56:26.043Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_time_since_added_ehSix Months
Year
primary_isbn9781982121310
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b26245279BookBooksFirst Atria paperback edition.EnglishAtria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc. ;2019.312 pages : 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_eh
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b26245279.i63309373On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
subject_facetAutobiographies
Banks, Brian, -- (football player)
False arrest
Football players -- Biography
Judicial error
Professional athletes -- Biography
title_displayWhat set me free : a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed
title_fullWhat set me free : a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed / Brian Banks and Mark Dagostino
title_shortWhat set me free
title_suba true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed
topic_facetBanks, Brian
False arrest
Football players
Judicial error
Professional athletes