Please place holds on East Hampton Public Library-owned items only, for pick-up at East Hampton Public Library only.  You can pick up ten (10) items per week per card.

Lilac Girls: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(5)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Ballantine Books, 2016.
Format:
eBook
Physical Desc:
1 online resource., Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
Status:
RBDigital (East Hampton)
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline's world is forever changed when Hitler's army invades Poland in September 1939--and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences. For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power. The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents--from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland--as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten. USA Today "New and Noteworthy" Book * LibraryReads Top Ten Pick "Harrowing . . . Lilac illuminates." -- People "A compelling, page-turning narrative . . . Lilac Girls falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. It's smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read." -- Fort Worth Star-Telegram "A powerful story for readers everywhere . . . Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of history's most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered. . . . I was moved to tears." -- San Francisco Book Review "Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See ." -- Library Journal (starred review) "[A] compelling first novel . . . This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly's vivid depiction of history and excellent characters." -- Publishers Weekly "Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbrück." -- Kirkus Reviews "Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history--women's history--that should never be forgotten." --Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of China Dolls "Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly . . . the best book I've read all year." --Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Also in This Series
Copies
RBDigital (East Hampton)
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101883068 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
Description
Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades. On the eve of a fateful war, New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline's world is forever changed when Hitler's army invades Poland in September 1939-and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she sinks deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspect neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences. For ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. But, once hired, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power. The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to RavensbrUck, the notorious female-only Nazi concentration camp. The tragedy and triumph of their stories cross continents-from New York to Paris, and Germany to Poland-capturing the indomitable pull of compassion to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten. In Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly has crafted a remarkable novel of unsung women and their quest for love, happiness, and second chances. It is a story that will keep readers bonded with the characters, searching for the truth, until the final pages.
Additional Physical Form
Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kelly, M. H. (2016). Lilac Girls: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Martha Hall. 2016. Lilac Girls: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Martha Hall, Lilac Girls: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Martha Hall. Lilac Girls: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
db3b808b-9af4-417e-eda2-808495f0ab05
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeJul 05, 2018 10:46:30 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 24, 2020 12:48:25 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02847nam a2200325 a 4500
001rbeEB00615977
003MdPfRBL
00520150908084005.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cnu---unuuu
008090713s2016    nyu     o     000 u eng d
020 |a 9781101883068 (electronic bk.)
02801|a EB00615977|b Recorded Books
040 |a MdPfRBL|b eng|c MdPfRBL
092 |a eBook
1001 |a Kelly, Martha Hall.
24510|a Lilac Girls|h [electronic resource] :|b A Novel /|c Martha Hall Kelly.
260 |a New York :|b Ballantine Books,|c 2016.
300 |a 1 online resource.
506 |a Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
530 |a Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
520 |a Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades. On the eve of a fateful war, New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline's world is forever changed when Hitler's army invades Poland in September 1939-and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she sinks deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspect neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences. For ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. But, once hired, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power. The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to RavensbrUck, the notorious female-only Nazi concentration camp. The tragedy and triumph of their stories cross continents-from New York to Paris, and Germany to Poland-capturing the indomitable pull of compassion to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten. In Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly has crafted a remarkable novel of unsung women and their quest for love, happiness, and second chances. It is a story that will keep readers bonded with the characters, searching for the truth, until the final pages.
588 |a Title from resource description page (Recorded Books, viewed September 08, 2015).
650 7|a FICTION / Historical.|2 bisacsh
650 4|a Fiction.
655 4|a Electronic books.
7102 |a Recorded Books, Inc.
85640|u http://easthamptonct.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781101883068
8564 |3 Image|u http://d2cv0ie6dlin9h.cloudfront.net/EB00615977/EB00615977_image_95x140.jpg
945 |c (OCoLC)935495449