What set me free: a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Published:
New York : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc. ;, 2019.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Atria paperback edition.
Physical Desc:
312 pages : 22 cm.
Status:
Description
Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story--that inspired the major motion picture Brian Banks --of a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL. At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal--and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded by darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, he made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to rebuild his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy , I Beat the Odds , and Infinite Hope , this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
East Lyme Public New Non Fiction
B BANKS, BRIAN (Banks) (What)
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781982121310, 1982121319

Notes

Description
At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal—and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded in darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, Brian made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying and applying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to re-build his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy, I Beat the Odds, and Infinite Hope, this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Banks, B., & Dagostino, M. (2019). What set me free: a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed. First Atria paperback edition. New York: Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc..

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Banks, Brian and Mark, Dagostino. 2019. What Set Me Free: A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed. New York: Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc..

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Banks, Brian and Mark, Dagostino, What Set Me Free: A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed. New York: Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Banks, Brian,, and Mark Dagostino. What Set Me Free: A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed. First Atria paperback edition. New York: Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
d05788a3-4bfc-6a6d-ac40-bdafe2395185
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeNov 05, 2019 12:19:49 PM
Last File Modification TimeNov 05, 2019 12:20:18 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 05, 2019 12:20:13 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03412cam a2200373 i 4500
001sky296492998
003SKY
00520190701000000.0
008181120t20192019nyu    e      000 0aeng d
010 |a bl2019018363
020 |a 9781982121310|q (trade paperback)
020 |a 1982121319
040 |a YDX|b eng|c YDX|d BDX|d OCLCQ|e rda|d HBP|d SKYRV|d EL
08204|a 345.771|2 23
1001 |a Banks, Brian,|c (football player)|e author.
24510|a What set me free :|b a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed /|c Brian Banks and Mark Dagostino.
250 |a First Atria paperback edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc. ;|c 2019.
264 4|c ©2019.
300 |a 312 pages :|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal—and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded in darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, Brian made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying and applying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to re-build his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy, I Beat the Odds, and Infinite Hope, this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
60010|a Banks, Brian,|c (football player).
650 0|a Football players|v Biography.
650 0|a Professional athletes|v Biography.
650 0|a Judicial error.
650 0|a False arrest.
655 7|a Autobiographies.|2 lcgft.
7001 |a Dagostino, Mark,|e author.
907 |a .b26245279|b 11-05-19|c 08-15-19
998 |a el|b 09-12-19|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 0
945 |a B BANKS, BRIAN (Banks) (What)|g 1|h  - - |i 20603474535|j 4|l elbn |n 08/30/2019 (trade paperback) ELLF Plate.|o -|p $16.99|q -|r -|s - |t 16|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i63309373|z 09-12-19