Due to limitations imposed by the pandemic, we ask that you place no more than 20 holds per card.

The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
[United States] : Macmillan Audio, 2020.
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (7hr., 24 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

"Narrator Angela Dawe's varied volume and pace create an atmosphere of deep emotions that draw the listener in close...fully realized characters who have relatable issues and emotions take the forefront." -- AudioFile Magazine From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island's people. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, just a girl herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls. After the tragedy, Lotte's husband escapes with the Zirkus, while she loses the will to care for their surviving son. Tilli steps in, bonding with him in a way she isn't allowed to with her own baby, taken away at birth. Sabine, struggling to keep her childlike daughter safe in the world, forms a complicated friendship with Lotte. But the mothers' fragile trio is threatened when Lotte and her husband hatch a dangerous plan to reunite their family, and Tilli and Sabine must try to find a way to pull them back to reality. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shining testament to the ways in which women hold each other up in the most unexpected of circumstances. A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books "Mesmerizing...Hegi's command of the plot and ability to render poignant characters create a satisfyingly emotional story. Hegi's fans and devotees of literary fiction will treasure this." -- Publishers Weekly "A lyrical meditation on motherhood and mourning." -- Boston Globe

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250266712 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 1250266718 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Angela Dawe.
Description
"Narrator Angela Dawe's varied volume and pace create an atmosphere of deep emotions that draw the listener in close...fully realized characters who have relatable issues and emotions take the forefront." -- AudioFile Magazine From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island's people. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, just a girl herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls. After the tragedy, Lotte's husband escapes with the Zirkus, while she loses the will to care for their surviving son. Tilli steps in, bonding with him in a way she isn't allowed to with her own baby, taken away at birth. Sabine, struggling to keep her childlike daughter safe in the world, forms a complicated friendship with Lotte. But the mothers' fragile trio is threatened when Lotte and her husband hatch a dangerous plan to reunite their family, and Tilli and Sabine must try to find a way to pull them back to reality. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shining testament to the ways in which women hold each other up in the most unexpected of circumstances. A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books "Mesmerizing...Hegi's command of the plot and ability to render poignant characters create a satisfyingly emotional story. Hegi's fans and devotees of literary fiction will treasure this." -- Publishers Weekly "A lyrical meditation on motherhood and mourning." -- Boston Globe
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Hegi, U., & Dawe, A. (2020). The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls. Unabridged. [United States]: Macmillan Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Hegi, Ursula and Angela. Dawe. 2020. The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls. [United States]: Macmillan Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Hegi, Ursula and Angela. Dawe, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls. [United States]: Macmillan Audio, 2020.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Hegi, Ursula., and Angela Dawe. The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls. Unabridged. [United States]: Macmillan Audio, 2020.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
63c2b009-fcc1-7005-6ecc-0736bdc1840d
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

Extract Information was matched by id in access url instead of record id.
hooplaId12667746
titleThe Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls
kindAUDIOBOOK
price3.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedFeb 11, 2021 06:15:06 PM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeFeb 26, 2021 10:47:20 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 22, 2021 02:51:07 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03881nim a22005175a 4500
001MWT13896450
003MWT
00520210215045019.1
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008210212s2020    xxunnn es      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781250266712 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1250266718 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT13896450
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/mcm_9781250266712_180.jpeg
037 |a 13896450|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 813/.54|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Hegi, Ursula.
24514|a The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls|h [electronic resource] /|c Ursula Hegi.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Macmillan Audio,|c 2020.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (7hr., 24 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Read by Angela Dawe.
520 |a "Narrator Angela Dawe's varied volume and pace create an atmosphere of deep emotions that draw the listener in close...fully realized characters who have relatable issues and emotions take the forefront." -- AudioFile Magazine From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island's people. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, just a girl herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls. After the tragedy, Lotte's husband escapes with the Zirkus, while she loses the will to care for their surviving son. Tilli steps in, bonding with him in a way she isn't allowed to with her own baby, taken away at birth. Sabine, struggling to keep her childlike daughter safe in the world, forms a complicated friendship with Lotte. But the mothers' fragile trio is threatened when Lotte and her husband hatch a dangerous plan to reunite their family, and Tilli and Sabine must try to find a way to pull them back to reality. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shining testament to the ways in which women hold each other up in the most unexpected of circumstances. A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books "Mesmerizing...Hegi's command of the plot and ability to render poignant characters create a satisfyingly emotional story. Hegi's fans and devotees of literary fiction will treasure this." -- Publishers Weekly "A lyrical meditation on motherhood and mourning." -- Boston Globe
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Pregnant women|v Fiction.
650 0|a Mothers|v Fiction.
650 0|a Circus|v Fiction.
650 0|a Maternity homes|v Fiction.
650 0|a Ocean waves|v Fiction.
650 0|a Children|x Death|v Fiction.
650 0|a Female friendship|v Fiction.
7001 |a Dawe, Angela.|4 nrt
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12667746?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/mcm_9781250266712_180.jpeg