The French girl
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Berkley, 2018.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
viii, 294 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Description
I Know What You Did Last Summer meets the French countryside in this exhilarating psychological suspense novel about a woman trapped by the bonds of friendship--perfect for fans of The Widow and The Woman in Cabin 10 . One of RealSimple 's and Cosmopolitan 's Best Books of the Month Everyone has a secret... They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending an idyllic week together in a French farmhouse. It was supposed to be the perfect summer getaway...until they met Severine, the girl next door. But after a huge altercation on the last night of the holiday, Kate Channing knew nothing would ever be the same. There are some things you can't forgive. And there are some people you can't forget...like Severine, who was never seen again. A decade later, the case is reopened when Severine's body is found behind the farmhouse. Questioned along with her friends, Kate stands to lose everything she's worked so hard to achieve as suspicion mounts all around her. Desperate to resolve her unreliable memories and fearful she will be forever bound to the memory of the woman who still haunts her, Kate finds herself entangled within layers of deception with no one to set her free....
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Branford/Blackstone Adult Fiction
FIC.
On Shelf
Durham Adult Fiction
FIC ELLIOTT
On Shelf
East Lyme Public Adult Fiction
Elliott, Lexie
On Shelf
Essex Adult Fiction
ELLIOTT
On Shelf
Hamden/Miller Adult Fiction
FIC/ELLIOTT
On Shelf
Ledyard/Gales Ferry Adult Fiction
F Elliott
On Shelf
Meriden New Adult Fiction
FIC ELLIOTT
Billed
Middlefield/Coe Adult Collection
FIC SUS Elliott
On Shelf
Middletown/Russell Adult Fiction
FIC-ELL
On Shelf
North Haven Adult Fiction
Fiction Elliott, Lexie
On Shelf
Old Saybrook/Acton Adult Mystery
M ELLIOTT
On Shelf
Orange/Case Adult Fiction Book
Fiction Elliott
On Shelf
Stony Creek/Willoughby Wallace Adult Fiction
FIC ELL
On Shelf
Woodbridge Adult Fiction
FIC ELLIOTT
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399586934, 0399586938

Notes

Description
"An exhilarating psychological suspense debut that will propel readers into the darkest edges of friendship, for fans of Fiona Barton, Clare Mackintosh, and Ruth Ware. They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending an idyllic week together in a French farmhouse. It was supposed to be the perfect summer getaway...until they met Severine, the girl next door. For Kate Channing, Severine was an unwelcome presence, her inscrutable beauty undermining the close-knit group's loyalties amid the already simmering tensions. And after a huge altercation on the last night of the holiday, Kate knew nothing would ever be the same. There are some things you can't forgive. And there are some people you can't forget, like Severine, who was never seen again...Now, a decade later, the case is reopened when Severine's body is found in the well behind the farmhouse. Questioned along with her friends, Kate stands to lose everything she's worked so hard to achieve as suspicion mounts around her. Desperate to resolve her own shifting memories and fearful she will be forever bound to the woman whose presence still haunts her, Kate will find herself buried under layers of deception with no one to set her free.."--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"Memories from her trip to France still haunt Kate Channing almost a decade after the fateful vacation. The image of her French neighbor, Severine, is as clear as if she had seen her yesterday--despite the fact that Severine went missing just as the vacation ended. And when the case is reopened, bringing with it resurfaced secrets, rekindled affections, and dangerous enemies, Kate wonders if she will ever be able to rid herself of the ghost of the haunting and silent young woman. As the investigation speeds forward and alliances can no longer be trusted, she begins to understand that the stakes of this game are her own survival"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Elliott, L. (2018). The French girl. First edition. New York: Berkley.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Elliott, Lexie. 2018. The French Girl. New York: Berkley.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Elliott, Lexie, The French Girl. New York: Berkley, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Elliott, Lexie. The French Girl. First edition. New York: Berkley, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
1d757ac9-fe9e-3094-5a0c-c321d4aa1638
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeNov 06, 2019 11:09:13 AM
Last File Modification TimeNov 06, 2019 11:09:36 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 06, 2019 11:09:28 AM

MARC Record

LEADER05192nam a2200553 i 4500
001BK0020838896
003DLC
00520170611125156.0
008170602s2018    nyu    e      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2017011325
020 |a 9780399586934|c 26.00
020 |a 0399586938|c 26.00
037 |b Penguin Group USA, Attn: Order Processing 405 Murray Hill Pkwy, East Rutherford, NJ, USA, 07073-2136|n SAN 201-3975
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d DLC|d WD
05000|a PR6105.L588|b F74 2018
08200|a 823/.92|2 23
1001 |a Elliott, Lexie,|e author.
24514|a The French girl /|c Lexie Elliott.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Berkley,|c 2018.
300 |a viii, 294 pages ;|c 24 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "An exhilarating psychological suspense debut that will propel readers into the darkest edges of friendship, for fans of Fiona Barton, Clare Mackintosh, and Ruth Ware. They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending an idyllic week together in a French farmhouse. It was supposed to be the perfect summer getaway...until they met Severine, the girl next door. For Kate Channing, Severine was an unwelcome presence, her inscrutable beauty undermining the close-knit group's loyalties amid the already simmering tensions. And after a huge altercation on the last night of the holiday, Kate knew nothing would ever be the same. There are some things you can't forgive. And there are some people you can't forget, like Severine, who was never seen again...Now, a decade later, the case is reopened when Severine's body is found in the well behind the farmhouse. Questioned along with her friends, Kate stands to lose everything she's worked so hard to achieve as suspicion mounts around her. Desperate to resolve her own shifting memories and fearful she will be forever bound to the woman whose presence still haunts her, Kate will find herself buried under layers of deception with no one to set her free.."--|c Provided by publisher.
520 |a "Memories from her trip to France still haunt Kate Channing almost a decade after the fateful vacation. The image of her French neighbor, Severine, is as clear as if she had seen her yesterday--despite the fact that Severine went missing just as the vacation ended. And when the case is reopened, bringing with it resurfaced secrets, rekindled affections, and dangerous enemies, Kate wonders if she will ever be able to rid herself of the ghost of the haunting and silent young woman. As the investigation speeds forward and alliances can no longer be trusted, she begins to understand that the stakes of this game are her own survival"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Murder|x Investigation|v Fiction.
650 0|a Friendship|v Fiction.
655 7|a Psychological fiction.|2 lcgft.
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd.
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd.
77608|i Online version.
77608|a Elliott, Lexie, author.|t French girl|b First edition.|d New York : Berkley, 2018|z 9780399586941|w (DLC) 2017027536.
907 |a .b25366348|b 09-04-19|c 10-11-17
998 |a br|a du|a (2)el|a ex|a (2)hm|a lg|a (2)me|a ml|a (2)md|a nh|a os|a or|a (2)st|a (2)wd|b 09-07-18|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 20
945 |a FIC. |g 1|h  - - |i 20702830298|j 1|l braf |o -|p $28.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 17|v 6|w 3|x 14|y .i60786176|z 02-20-18
945 |a FIC ELLIOTT |g 1|h  - - |i 22702107826|j 2|l duaf |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 137|u 11|v 1|w 0|x 11|y .i60898057|z 03-14-18
945 |a Elliott, Lexie|g 1|h  - - |i 20603389774|j 4|l elaf |n 02-23-18|o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 6|v 6|w 0|x 6|y .i60813672|z 02-23-18
945 |a ELLIOTT|g 0|h  - - |i 21501085290|j 6|l exaf |n P 2/18|o -|p $25.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 11|v 3|w 1|x 10|y .i60742215|z 02-09-18
945 |a FIC/ELLIOTT|g 0|h  - - |i 31200500191159|j 35|l hmaf |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 14|v 5|w 1|x 13|y .i60772931|z 02-15-18
945 |a F Elliott |g 0|h  - - |i 20802621548|j 10|l lgaf |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 7|v 1|w 2|x 5|y .i60762214|z 02-14-18
945 |a FIC ELLIOTT |g 0|h 08-06-18|i 20905544209|j 12|l mebf |n 3/18 B&T 26.00/13.83|o -|p $13.83|q -|r -|s n |t 2|u 4|v 0|w 0|x 4|y .i60926648|z 03-20-18
945 |a FIC SUS Elliott |g 0|h  - - |i 34130000476429|j 36|l mla |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 13|v 2|w 1|x 12|y .i60749817|z 02-12-18
945 |a FIC-ELL |g 1|h  - - |i 21406544862|j 13|l mdaf |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 10|v 4|w 2|x 8|y .i60786140|z 02-20-18
945 |a Fiction Elliott, Lexie |g 0|h  - - |i 31216003893901|j 28|l nhaf |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 167|u 7|v 2|w 0|x 7|y .i60770636|z 02-15-18
945 |a M ELLIOTT |g 0|h  - - |i 33520001267739|j 33|l osafm|o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 15|v 0|w 1|x 14|y .i60986657|z 04-02-18
945 |a Fiction Elliott|g 1|h  - - |i 32159002230833|j 25|l oraf |n 2/18|o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 12|v 2|w 1|x 11|y .i60704706|z 02-02-18
945 |a FIC ELL|g 0|h  - - |i 22300847765|j 18|l staf |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 5|v 1|w 0|x 5|y .i60792292|z 02-20-18
945 |a FIC ELLIOTT|g 1|h  - - |i 21802519492|j 21|l wdaf |o -|p $26.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 13|v 2|w 1|x 12|y .i60738078|z 02-09-18